Universities In Meerut

Home > Universities In Meerut

There are two universities in meerut which are managed by the state.

Chaudhary Charan Singh University

Chaudhary Charan Singh University was previously known as the Meerut University, which was formed as a public university with its location in Meerut in the state of Uttar Pradesh in India, that came into existence in 1965. In later years, the university got its present name in honor of Chaudhary Charan Singh, who was one among the earlier Prime Ministers of India. In 1991, the university had its silver jubilee celebrations, and is being counted as one among the few leading universities in the country.

Campus :

The campus of this university is situated outside Meerut in an area spreading across 219 acres where playgrounds, botanical gardens, indoor stadium, rose garden having a large statue of life size of Chaudhary Charan Singh, experimental fields, gymnasium, library, separate block for administration, guest house, auditorium, medical centre and community centre are found.

Contact Details:
CCS University - Meerut 200005
Phone No. +91 121 2763539
Fax No. +91 121 2764777
e-mail: registrar@ccsuniversity.ac.in

Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel University of Agriculture & Technology

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel University of Agriculture and Technology is an university in Meerut in the region of Modipuram in Uttar Pradesh which pertains to agricultural education. Having been set up as a university in full force, it has a matter of honour of being named as a “First Agriculture University which belonged to the 21st century and to the 3rd Millenium. The principle to which the university is committed is the integration of the extension and research related education so that people of the region of all classes are served properly as well as requires manpower to improve the farming requirements of the people of Uttar Pradesh in about 15 districts.

History :

This university came into force in 2000, 2nd October, as per the Act of Uttar Pradesh Agriculture University which was revised in 1958 as per the Gazette and was brought into notification through the letter no. 3204A/X12-8-2000. The university was inaugurated by the Chief minister of Uttar Pradesh on March 28th in 2002. The honor of being known as the first University pertaining to agricultural studies belonging to the 21st century. The UP Govt, ICAR and Government of India have given recognition to the university and also fund the organization.

Jurisdiction :

The government of UP has bestowed upon the university to manage and develop on an all round basis, the rural areas under four divisions such as Moradabad, Meerut, Bareilly and Saharanpur, which in total comprise of about 15 districts such as Badaun, Pilibhit, Shahjahanpur, Bareilly, Rampur, Baghpat, Jyotiba Phule Nagar, Bijnor, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha nagar, Muzaffarnagar, Saharanpur, Meerut, and Bulandsahar. There are nine zones of agro climatic conditions in the UP state, of which only 3 are under the jurisdiction of the university

Location :

The city of meerut is located between 77.7 longitude and 28.2 latitude along the plains in the north in India. The land is not rocky, and mountains are absent. Due to the highly fertile land, crop agriculture is quite suitable. The plains between the Yamuna and Ganges rivers is fertile and has high watr level has improved. The place where the university is located is Modipuram.

Courses :

  • B.Sc (Agriculture)
  • B.Tech (Biotechnology)
  • M.Sc (Agriculture)
  • M.Tech (Biotechnology)
  • PhD (Agriculture & Biotechnology)

Contact Details :

Name Contact No. Fax
Mr. Ritul Singh P.R.O. Hon'ble VC 0121-2956141 0121-2888505
Mr. Ompal Singh P.A.to Hon'ble VC 0121-2888522 0121-2888505
Registrar Office 0121-2888502 0121-2888525
Mr. NN Upadhyay Cleck, Comptroller Office 0121-2888514 0121-2888505